Saturday, 19 September 2015

Bye bye winter! The last of my winter sewing for the year.


As a last hurrah before things really heat up down under, I made a warm, winter outfit consisting of a jacket, jeans and long-sleeved top.

Oh, and meet Bubbles! He is a two year old toy poodle and we are looking after him for a month. This was my compromise to (temporarily) appease my nine year old, who wants a second dog. We don't even know the owners, they were strangers who advertised for a dog-sitter on the online classifieds. The things I agree to!


Anyway, back to the jacket. I found this remnant of fabric at Knitwit for $10 (usually $25.95/m). There was a metre, but it was unravelling a bit, hence the low price. It was described as 'an exclusive import from Italy...not a knit, not even a normal woven fabric but it has loads of Italian style; some would even say Missoni style.' I was sold. It is beautiful.



As recommended by Knitwit, I used dark interfacing to strengthen the delicate weave. This fabric is not machine washable, so we'll have to see how it goes. I have never been to a drycleaners, preferring to risk all in the washing machine!


I wanted a simple, boxy style to use up all the scrummy fabric and not have to worry about matching the pattern too much. I flicked through my Burdastyle magazines and chose jacket 122 from the February 2015 issue. 

Burdastyle 02/2015 #122

I had enough fabric for the back and fronts of the jacket, omitting the back vent and cutting the back on the fold. For the sleeves and collar I used some black wool remnants from Potters Textiles. The pattern is unlined, so I drafted a collar, front facing and lining to cover up that interfacing. The lining was silk dupion from the stash.


Pattern matching was impossible at the sides due to fabric restrictions, but I'm still very happy with this as a simple throw-on 'Missoni' jacket. 


I'm just trying to decide if it needs a front button closure.


The next part of the outfit is the jeans. No prizes for guessing that I made my favourite Jamie jeans by Named Clothing yet again!


This time I used a medium blue denim with minimal stretch from Spotlight. I topstitched with bronzey yellow topstitching thread.


There's not much more to say about these jeans as I've said it all before. I love them and have worn them lots already.



The last part of the outfit is this top. Another Presto! Popover Top by SavageCoco. I love this pattern. This one was made using another Knitwit remnant for the front and purple knit fabric from the stash for the back and sleeves.


The Knitwit remnant was a panel print and had two repeats. I placed the pattern in such a way that each front was cut from one panel repeat. The result was a replica of the whole panel right across the front with the centre front seamline being almost impossible to see. This is a bit difficult to describe, but if you've made this top you will get what I mean. Maybe!


I like the effect this gives with the print extending up the neckline. The other benefit was that the fabric was a bit sheer, so this pattern, with its double layer front, was perfect.


The clingy purple knit gives a great fit at the back.


So there we are, a top, jeans and a jacket. OK, bye winter!

19 comments:

  1. What fab outfit! I did a double take when you said you made the jeans. They look absolutely store bought. I am going to check out that pattern right now.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I agree, a great outfit. I noticed that Burda pattern but had only thought about it with a quilted fabric - nice to see it done with the sweater knit.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Gorgeous winter look just my style!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Gorgeous winter look just my style!

    ReplyDelete
  5. You are sewing some really fabulous outfits Meg, lovely photo shoot too!

    ReplyDelete
  6. You have created some fabulous garments here Megan. Love the way you have used the unusual fabrics and those jeans are perfect.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Great pieces. I really love the tshirt fabric!

    ReplyDelete
  8. At first look, I thought the coat was a vest which is a nice look.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I love your jacket, it's much nicer than Burda's version. The jeans are fabulous and the whole outfit is great.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Everything is really nice, I love the colors. The shirt is amazing. Just a wonderful use of a bold print, exactly the right amount of color. The way the center seam disappears in an irregular print is astonishing. I've carefully matched stripes across a seam and still hated the results but the bolder print really works. Also love the shade of denim.

    ReplyDelete
  11. marinir seo new to blogging I would say because my personal blog is just about a year old. But I have been a freelance writer for three years before I started my own blog and still a freelancer to this day so that makes it four years for me as a freelance writer. I know the many tricks about commenting in blogs and I get paid to crate accounts to make comments on blog sites of clients some of them are pretty up there in Google Pagerank.

    bantal malang{Enter}kunjungi website
    bantal silikon{Enter}sangkar burung
    {Enter}sangkar burung

    ReplyDelete
  12. It all looks lovely. I love the missoni style print and it works really well with the black to tone it down. Your jeans fit beautifully as does the tee. The whole outfit goes together really well. It would be perfect for the weather we have here this week. Dreaded winter just doesn't want to go away!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Bubbles is a natural blog dog. What a shame the owners will want him back!!

    Nice selections of garments which fit you perfectly. I know what you mean about dry cleaning. Warm water is so much more ... trust-worthy!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Obat Pembesar Penis Herbal Original | Vimax Canada Asli | Alat Pembesar Penis http://www.pembesarpenismurah.com/

    Obat Pembesar Penis http://www.pembesarpenismurah.com/

    Pembesar Penis http://www.pembesarpenismurah.com/

    Cara Memperbesar Penis http://www.pembesarpenismurah.com/category/cara-memperbesar-penis/

    Cara Pemesanan Obat Pembesar Penis http://www.pembesarpenismurah.com/cara-pemesanan/

    Kenapa Vimax no.1 http://www.pembesarpenismurah.com/kenapa-vimax-no-1/

    Tentang Vimax http://www.pembesarpenismurah.com/tentang-vimax/

    Vimax Top Canada http://www.pembesarpenismurah.com/vimax-top-canada/

    PENYEBAB PRIA GAGAL MEMPERBESAR PENIS http://www.pembesarpenismurah.com/penyebab-pria-gagal-memperbesar-penis/

    TEHNIK MEMBUAT PENIS BESAR DAN PANJANG http://www.pembesarpenismurah.com/tehnik-membuat-penis-besar-dan-panjang/

    Obat Pembesar Penis http://www.pembesarpenismurah.com/category/obat-pembesar-penis/

    Minyak Lintah Oil PaPua http://www.pembesarpenismurah.com/minyak-lintah-oil-papua/

    Obat Pembesar Penis Vimax http://www.pembesarpenismurah.com/obat-memperbesar-penis-no-1-alami/

    Obat pembesar Penis Vigrx Plus http://www.pembesarpenismurah.com/vigrx-pembesar-penis/

    Seks http://www.pembesarpenismurah.com/category/seks/

    Cara Menikmati Seks Saat Liburan http://www.pembesarpenismurah.com/menikmati-seks-saat-liburan/

    Tentang Penis http://www.pembesarpenismurah.com/category/tentang-penis/

    Fakta Menarik Tentang Penis yang Jarang Di ketahui http://www.pembesarpenismurah.com/fakta-menarik-tentang-penis-yang-jarang-diketahui/

    Alat Vakum Pembesar Penis Big Long http://www.pembesarpenismurah.com/alat-pembesar-penis-vakum-big-long/

    ReplyDelete
  15. AGEN ALAT BANTU SEX | PRIA WANITA | MURAH | TERBAIK http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/

    Alat Bantu Sex http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/alat-bantu-sex/

    Alat Bantu Sex Pria http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/alat-bantu-sex-pria/

    VAGINA TABUNG MANUAL http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/vagina-tabung-manual/

    VAGINA BABBY PUSSY FLASHLIGHT http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/vagina-babby-pussy-flashlight/

    VAGINA PINGGUL http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/vagina-pinggul/

    VAGINA PANTAT http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/vagina-pantat/

    VAGINA DUA LUBANG http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/vagina-dua-lubang/

    VAGINA GOYANG SUARA http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/vagina-goyang-suara/

    Boneka Full Body From Japan http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/boneka-full-body-cantik-from-japan/

    Alat Bantu Sex Wanita http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/alat-bantu-sex-wanita/

    PENIS SAKKY GETAR MINI http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/penis-sakky-getar-mini/

    PENIS MUTIARA GETAR GOYANG http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/penis-mutiara-getar-goyang/

    PENIS TEKUK MANUAL http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/penis-tekuk-manual/

    PENIS DUA KEPALA http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/penis-dua-kepala/

    Aneka Kondom Silikon http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/aneka-kondom-silikon/

    KONDOM LELE http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/kondom-lele/

    KONDOM GETAR WOLFTOOH SLEEVE http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/kondom-getar-wolftooth-sleeve/

    Obat Kuat Pria http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/obat-kuat-pria/

    BLACK ANT AFRIKA http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/black-ant-afrika/

    V6 TIAN http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/v6-tian/

    CIALIS TADALAFIL KOTAK 20mg http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/cialis-tadalafil-kotak-20mg/

    CIALIS TADALAFIL BOTOL 80mg http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/cialis-tadalafil-botol-80mg/

    VIAGRA USA http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/viagra-usa/

    Obat Pembesar Penis http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/obat-pembesar-penis/

    MINYAK LINTAH OIL PAPUA http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/minyak-lintah-oil-papua/

    KLG PILLS USA http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/klg-pills-usa/

    VIGRX PLUS USA http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/vigrx-plus-usa/

    VIMAX CANADA ASLI DUPONT IZON ORIGINAL http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/vimax-canada-asli-dupont-izon-original/

    Obat Perangsang Wanita http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/obat-perangsang-wanita/

    POTENZOL CAIR http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/potenzol-cair/

    MAX WOMEN CAIR http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/max-women-cair/

    Aneka Ring http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/aneka-ring/

    RING NANAS http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/ring-nanas/

    RING MATAHARI http://www.alatbantusexonani.com/ring-matahari/

    ReplyDelete
  16. OBAT VIMAX ASLI CANADA ORIGINAL, VIMAX IZON, PEMBESAR PENIS http://www.obatvimaxizon.com/

    Vimax Canada Asli DUPONT IZON 4D http://www.obatvimaxizon.com/vimax-canada-asli-dupont-izon-4d/

    Vimax http://www.obatvimaxizon.com/

    Vimax Asli http://www.obatvimaxizon.com/

    Vimax Izon http://www.obatvimaxizon.com/

    Vimax Canada http://www.obatvimaxizon.com/

    Vimax Original http://www.obatvimaxizon.com/

    Obat Vimax http://www.obatvimaxizon.com/

    Obat Pembesar Penis http://www.obatvimaxizon.com/

    Pembesar penis http://www.obatvimaxizon.com/

    Jual Vimax http://www.obatvimaxizon.com/

    Ciri Vimax Asli http://www.obatvimaxizon.com/ciri-vimax-asli/

    Tentang Vimax Canada http://www.obatvimaxizon.com/tentang-vimax-canada/

    Testimoni Pelanggan Vimax http://www.obatvimaxizon.com/testimoni-pelanggan/

    Bukti Pengiriman Vimax http://www.obatvimaxizon.com/bukti-pengiriman/

    Cara Pemesanan Vimax http://www.obatvimaxizon.com/cara-pemesanan/

    ReplyDelete
  17. Pusat Agen Obat Bius Tidur Pingsan, Obat Perangsang Wanita Terbaik http://www.obatbiusterbaik.com/

    Obat Bius Serbuk http://www.obatbiusterbaik.com/obat-bius-serbuk/

    Obat Bius Cair http://www.obatbiusterbaik.com/obat-bius-cair/

    Obat Bius Trivam Propofol http://www.obatbiusterbaik.com/obat-bius-trivam-propofol/

    Obat Bius Cair Liquid Sex http://www.obatbiusterbaik.com/obat-bius-cair-liquid-sex/

    Obat Bius Hirup http://www.obatbiusterbaik.com/obat-bius-hirup/

    Obat Bius Hirup Chloroform http://www.obatbiusterbaik.com/obat-bius-hirup-chloroform/

    Obat Bius Spray http://www.obatbiusterbaik.com/obat-bius-spray/

    Obat Bius Spray Chlorophyll Ampuh http://www.obatbiusterbaik.com/obat-bius-spray-chlorophyll-ampuh/

    Obat Bius Tablet http://www.obatbiusterbaik.com/obat-bius-tablet/

    Obat Bius Tablet Rohypnol http://www.obatbiusterbaik.com/obat-bius-tablet-rohypnol/

    Obat Pembesar Penis http://www.obatbiusterbaik.com/obat-pembesar-penis/

    Obat Pembesar penis Vimax Izon Asli Original Canada Herbal http://www.obatbiusterbaik.com/obat-pembesar-penis-vimax-izon-asli/

    Obat Perangsang Wanita http://www.obatbiusterbaik.com/obat-perangsang-wanita/

    Obat Perangsang Wanita Potenzol Cair http://www.obatbiusterbaik.com/obat-perangsang-wanita-potenzol-cair/

    Perangsang Permen Karet http://www.obatbiusterbaik.com/perangsang-permen-karet/

    Obat Perangsang Wanita Opium Spray http://www.obatbiusterbaik.com/obat-perangsang-wanita-opium-spray/

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for taking the time to comment. I value every single one.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...